1st Source recognizes 20 volunteer leaders in LaPorte and Porter Counties

1st Source Bank honored 20 nominees of the 1st Source Ernestine M. Raclin Community Leadership Award at an award ceremony at Sand Creek Country Club. The 20 nominees are employees of 1st Source business clients and they were recognized for their volunteer leadership in the community.
At the ceremony, four nominees were selected as recipients of a special Community Leadership Award including Janice Buchanan, co-owner of Steel Supply Corporation in Westville; George Douglas, General Manager of Indiana Beverage in Valparaiso; Laura Francesconi, VP/Director of Corporate Development with Meridian Title in LaPorte; and Rob Thorgren, President of Thorgren Tool & Molding in Valparaiso. Each winner will receive a personal cash award, a donation to the charity of their choice and a globe of leadership.
“1st Source is pleased to recognize 20 outstanding volunteer leaders in our community,” said Matt Vessely, 1st Source Regional President. “Congratulations to each of the nominees. We thank you for the impact you have had on our community.”
Janice Buchanan was recognized for her service to Care & Share, which provides backpacks full of healthy food to children in need during the school year. She is also a founding member of the Birchfield Memorial Foundation, which has raised funds for a new park. Janice is also an active member of the Westville Chapter of Tri Kappa.
George Douglas is a volunteer leader with P.A.C.T. of Porter County, which provides community based criminal justice programs; the Northwest Indiana Workforce Investment Board, the YMCA, the Valparaiso Schools Foundation and the Porter County Community Foundation.
Laura Francesconi, is recognized for her leadership with the Worthy Women Recovery Center, IU Health Foundation Board, the YMCA, Kiwanis and the LaPorte Chamber of Commerce.
Rob Thorgren has contributed to the success of the Valparaiso YMCA, the Valparaiso Parks Foundation, the American Cancer Society’s Relay for Life, the Muscular Dystrophy Association and several other local organizations.
Other award nominees include, Greg Babcock, with the Babcock Law Office; Joe Baker, a volunteer with the Porter County Career and Tech Center; John Blosky, Amereco Engineering; Dina Gasaway of Winn Machine; Wendy Gates with Culver’s of Valparaiso; Tim Harris of Professional Appraisal Services; Dr. Charles Hurst, Hurst Orthodontics; Steve Ingram, with Valuation Services; Jim Jeselnick, owner of Driftwood Commons; Tom Jessen, of Birthright Valparaiso; Deborah McKay, owner of Hebron Realty & Insurance; Sharon Mortensen, of P.A.C.T, Inc.; Matt Schafer with Schafer Farms Partnership; Mark Schemel of Team Chevrolet; Steve Sutter, with Sutter Farms; and Margaret Warnke, of Pyro Industrial Services.